Two things I couldn’t do in my Sinatra App

Learning SQL and Sinatra was fun. I actually enjoyed it! As a part of the curriculum, I had to make project now. Building my Sinatra App with MVC model. It was actually very interesting project.

I decided to make my application on coding tips because that is one of the things I normally look for. So, I thought it would be nice to have a centralized page for that.

The project went smooth and didn’t have many issues. I used bootstrap for layout which ate up 2-3 hours. But finally, did it.

Login

When you learn anything and put that experience to make something by yourself, It is completely different experience. That experience gave me a hint that I am on a right track. I am now more confident than before to learn more and more and make some interesting apps.

In this blog, I would like to discuss with you two things that I couldn’t do in this project.

[acts-as-votable -](http://github.com/ryanto/acts_as_votable) acts-as-votable is a ruby gem which works with rail. I wanted all of the tips to have upvote and downvote button. So, my Google search and Stack Overflow search land me to this gem. Though this gem is for rails, I tried to use it in my app, with many tips and tricks that I could think of (such as creating model and migration files for it), looking at source code again and again and try to find a solution. But after couples of hours, I just gave up when I realized that it is not possible. But that gives me a new aim to create a ruby gem kind of like acts-as-votable but for Sintra. I will surely work on it in future.

[Heroku – ](https://devcenter.heroku.com/articles/getting-started-with-rails4) If you have an application with uses Postgres database. You can deploy it to Heroku. Means, anyone can access your application without manually cloning your application in the terminal. But I have used SQLite database. There are few tips and tricks available on net which I tried to deploy my Heroku application even after using SQLite. But couldn’t successfully do it. I still know I need to try and try to find a solution and this is possible. But I guess, after trying this thing for almost 14-16 hours, I need a break. I will surely work on it in future.

If you would like to see my Github repo for this project, please click [here](https://github.com/HimaChitalia/Sinatra-Project-Coding-Tips).

If you would like to see the video of this project, please click [here](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKLn6lbPUOw&list=PLBouSX1ip6YMoRBKnKtKSoN5k-fEM8HFH).

I welcome all of the suggestion you may have on this blog post or my two errors.

Happy Coding!

LEAVE A REPLY...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

